With Writer’s Block, I Pace Around Like a Cougar

Image may contain: one or more people

The essence of this pensive writer’s block shot is almost similar to what it’s like minus the cigarette. I’m anti-cigarettes. No offense if you smoke, I don’t hate you, I just can’t be around it breathing it in. 🙂 My smoker friends smoke away from me. I used to smoke casually when I was a rebellious teen and wanted to get back at daddy.

With writer’s block I don’t sit there and stare into space….necessarily.  I pace all over creation like a disheveled cougar, then I end up outside wandering around mumbling to myself like a gypsy with Tourette syndrome.

Outside, I had found a spot where I stood at attention and immediately a cocoon of light burst up around me to re-calibrate and re-center my soul, but then my nose twitched. Heavy cigarette smoke trapped itself under my nostrils and anger bled down my forehead and face that I scratched frantically with my knuckles. Pissed that I had to move now, I nearly ran smack into this guy I missed standing a couple of feet away from me with his cigarette.

I grumbled like Ebenezer Scrooge, “Oh. Sorry.” He excitedly and cheerfully with all smiles his hand like a stop sign out for me to not move, “No, no stay. It’s fine.” My eyes ran down his body and glared at the cigarette in his hand with a look on my face that said, “You’re kidding right?” I walked on passed him without saying anything. As I did, I saw his smile go down as he looked down at his cigarette realizing the culprit. I thought, “Shit, could I be anymore obvious.” That’s the thing. You know what’s on my mind without me saying anything.


Empowerment, inspirational and self-help books by Kevin Hunter
are available in paperback and kindle wherever books are sold.

About Kevin Hunter

Author

Posted on August 30, 2016, in Kevin Hunter, Kevin Hunter Author Writer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

