My 20 year anniversary in the Entertainment Business

My life changed drastically 20 years ago this week when I had what some call the big break in the film business. This was a huge turning point in my life and a big deal in many ways. It was the beginning of endless doors being karate kicked open instead of me knocking lightly with no answer.

It was six weeks after my 23rd birthday and I was sitting in an unmarked office five blocks from the beach on my first day at work facing actress, Michelle Pfeiffer. All great things came down from that point and have ever since.

There is a chapter or two in my book, “Reaching for the Warrior Within”, that discusses how I got into the business and stayed in. I later realized the impact those chapters had when I found out that up and comers struggling to get into the entertainment business were trying to get their hands on my book……for free!

I didn’t understand it since the book isn’t about that, but it does reveal some key strokes I made that had an impact and got me noticed and the trajectory it took me down. Getting in was probably pure luck, but staying in was drive, determination, knowledge, persistence and charisma. The Producer that obtained the rights to all Harry Potter films and books had said, “No one can do what you can do. You’re tough and razor sharp, but you mix that with this great compassion.”

Cut to today, I’ve written 15 books in the last 5 years, and I’m being generous here since there are four additional books that were written before that which I don’t count. I’ve never heard anyone say, “You never do anything.” On the contrary, instead I hear, “You need to take a break.”

By the time I reached the highest of heights where every major studio or talent was contacting me to offer me a job, I wanted out and was turning huge gigs down that others would kill for. Soon the recommendations I was hearing were, “You’d be lucky if you can get him. He’s the best.” Years after that, I’d have some of them ask me, “Do you think you will ever come back?”

As I moved into semi-retirement from that in order to focus on my work as an author, Hollywood producers and agents were contacting me trying to get their hands on my phone book which had everyone’s personal number from Angelina Jolie to Steven Spielberg. I locked that book up in a box and have NEVER given up the information. You’ll have to pry it from my dead fingers.

When well known people give you their personal contact number and address, it’s because they trust you. When you’re well known, you don’t have much trust in those you come across, but with me they feel instant trust. This is also part of the reason I remained close with some of them and developed long running connections. The other part was that I am great at my job.

More to come…

Empowerment, inspirational and self-help books by Kevin Hunter
are available in paperback and kindle wherever books are sold.

About Kevin Hunter

Love addict

Posted on April 18, 2016, in Dude Lit, entertainment, Kevin Hunter, Kevin Hunter Author Writer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

